Self Defense Classes

kick-image

Revolutionary Fitness conducts donation based classes EVERY Thursday. Their website is here. Classes are from 8-8:55PM. A description for the class reads:

Self defense training is a class primarily developed for the women & LGBTQ members of our community but open to all those who are interested in attending. The class focuses not only on self defense techniques, but also on ways to prevent becoming a victim. Learn how to defend yourself and at the same time get a great workout in.

They are located at 1637 Park Ave, New York, NY 10029. In addition to donation based self defense classes they offer a few others as well, more information on those classes here.

Everything is Awful and I’m Not Okay: New Semester Check In

 

everything-is-awful-and-im-not-okay-flyer

everything-is-awful-and-im-not-okay-flyer

New semesters can be tough especially when the world as a whole is messy. If you are finding yourself overwhelmed we have something for you. What follows is a flyer called Everything is Awful and I’m Not Okay. Sometimes when we’re overwhelmed we need a reminder to deal with stuff. I have a copy printed by my desk and it helps.

If you need, the Wellness Center offers counseling services and has walk-in hours on Mondays from 10:30-11:30AM. More information can be found here. It is okay to need help and reach out.

The Spring semester calendar is filling quickly so keep your eyes on the DSC website, Health and Wellness Officer website, and your email to stay abreast of what the DSC/GC is doing to help you.

And as always the DSC Lounge (5495) has condoms and safer sex supplies, aromatherapy oils, coffee/tea, tampons, and more.

Seeking new housing starting March 1

Hello all,

I am an ABD musicology student in search of a new housing situation, starting as early as March 1 (but can be a bit flexible on that). I currently live a few blocks away from Brooklyn College in the heart of Brooklyn, but am open to moving to other areas of the city as long as it’s pretty easy to get to/from the Union Square area on weekdays. My budget is $1200/month maximum including utilities, and I’d like to live with 1-2 roommates (no preferences about gender/orientation). I am willing to sign on to a lease if that’s a thing, and am hoping to find a long-term place where I can also fit my few pieces of vintage furniture (matching chest of drawers + dresser, 2 midcentury armchairs).

About me: I’m 33, female. By day I work full time as an archivist with a cultural organization near Union Square, and by night I am trying to make some progress on my dissertation. I am quiet, fairly neat, and respectful of personal space. I enjoy cooking, and spend quite a bit of my weekend time finding good grocery deals, meal planning, and prepping meals for the week ahead (I also happily share food with a bit of advance notice!).

If you are in search of a roommate or know someone who is, please get in touch! I appreciate any and all leads, and look forward to hearing from you. 🙂

Cheers,

Devora
POSTED on Feb 9th on the DSC Listserv

1 2 3 4