The OpenCUNY Board is elected by and from the OpenCUNY community each academic year. The board consists of six voting members: the three OpenCUNY Coordinators, and four Board Members. The primary task of the OpenCUNY Board is to develop and maintain the Terms of Participation that defines’s governance policy and any other policies deemed appropriate by the Board.

Current Board Members:

  • BENJAMIN HABER (Sociology)
    a.k.a “bhaber”
    Benjamin Haber is a PhD candidate in the Department of Sociology at The Graduate Center of the City University of New York where he has completed the coursework for the certificate programs in Interactive Technology and Pedagogy as well as Women’s Studies. He is interested in affect, bodies, identity, technology and experimental approaches to method and measure. Benjamin is a Digital Fellow at The Center for the Humanities and an Adjunct Lecturer at Hunter College. As co-chair of The Life of Things seminar at the Center for the Humanities, Benjamin and his colleagues have been exploring the epistemological and ontological transformations of what is referred to as big data. Their group paper on this topic, “The Datalogical Turn” will be published later this year by Routledge in the book Nonrepresentational Methodologies: Re-envisioning Research. Benjamin also creates immersive spaces for dance, art and performance with the queer collective Judy with which he was awarded the first FUN Fellowship in the Social Practice of Nightlife by the Museum of Art and Design.


* * *

  • MONIQUE WHITAKER (Philosophy)
    a.k.a “mwhitaker”
    Monique Whitaker is a PhD candidate in the Philosophy program at the Graduate Center, CUNY, and a longstanding OpenCUNY user. She’s worked with the OpenCUNY platform extensively, for instance in developing the Doctoral Students’ Council’s Health & Wellness site (, and has been a panelist with OpenCUNY at the CUNY Tech Conference and in a number of OpenCUNY workshops. Her research interests include the semantics and pragmatics of the ordinary-language conditional and issues in animal ethics.


* * *

  • KRISTIN MORIAH (English Literature)
    a.k.a “kmoriah”
    Kristin Moriah is a doctoral candidate in English Literature at the City University of New York’s Graduate Center. She researches African American literature and performance in transnational contexts. Born in Toronto, she now lives in Brooklyn. She is excited by the potentially radical uses of OpenCUNY and its history as a space for digital student activism. As a member of the OpenCUNY board, she would like to use her institutional knowledge of OpenCUNY to help preserve its independence and foster new growth. She can be found on Twitter at @moriahgirl.


* * *

    a.k.a. kallewesterling
    Kalle Westerling is a performance and theatre scholar, currently working on two dissertations, one for Stockholm University in Sweden on the formation of the Swedish brand of drag show. His other dissertation project, for The Graduate Center, CUNY in New York City, concerns male-identified bodies in 20th century burlesque and boylesque. He also co-directs the Scholars project for the The Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory (HASTAC). He is on the Board of Directors for The Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies, as well as the board of Swedish Performance Studies-focused publishing house STUTS.


* * *



  • JOHN BOY a.k.a “gcsoc” and “jboy” (Sociology)
  • JENNIFER STOOPS a.k.a. “jstoops” (Urban Education)
  • JESSICA MILLER a.k.a. “jmiller1” (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • SAMANTHA KRETMAR a.k.a. “skretmar” (MALS)


  • JOHN BOY a.k.a “gcsoc” and “jboy” (Sociology)
  • CHRISTINA NADLER a.k.a. “chrissy” (Sociology)
  • JARED SIMARD a.k.a. “canes” (Classics)
  • SUZANNE TAMANG a.k.a. “stamang” (Computer Science)


  • JOHN BOY a.k.a “gcsoc” and “jboy” (Sociology)
  • JEN GIESEKING a.k.a. “jgieseking” (Environmental Psychology)
  • KIERSTEN GREENE a.k.a. “kgreene” (Urban Education)
  • KEITH MIYAKE a.k.a “kmiyake” (Earth & Environmental Sciences/Geography)


  • JOHN BOY a.k.a “gcsoc” and “jboy” (Sociology)
  • BORIS DAUSSÁ-PASTOR a.k.a. “bdaussa” (Theatre)
  • JEN GIESEKING a.k.a. “jgieseking” (Environmental Psychology)
  • KEITH MIYAKE a.k.a “kmiyake” (Earth & Environmental Sciences/Geography)

 OpenCUNY » login | join | terms | node 

 Supported by the CUNY Doctoral Students Council.